Thursday, August 1, 2013

Melvin C. High Scholarship Winners All Attending University of Maryland

Upper Marlboro, MD… Sheriff Melvin C. High awarded scholarships to three Prince George’s County High School (Class of 2012) graduates today during the third annual Melvin C. High Scholarship Awards Presentation.  All three winners will attend the University of Maryland-College Park this fall.
Parents and family were in attendance at the Sheriff’s Headquarters to congratulate Cadeem Franklin of Oxon Hill High School and Dariya Brown of Bishop McNamara High School as they accepted scholarships checks in the amount of $1,000 each. The third scholarship winner who is already taking classes is Shalom Keflezghi of High Point High School.  The Scholarships, named after Sheriff High, are fully funded by the Sheriff.

“We received over 90 applications from outstanding young high school graduates,” said Sheriff High. “This scholarship is something I do because my interest is in young people reaching their greatest potential and because someone helped me.”

In congratulating the winners Sheriff High asked three things of the students: that they stay focused and on course, that they be good parents when they become parents and that they reach back to help someone coming behind them.

Lt. Colonel Regina Taylor, Bureau Chief of Field Operations, whose staff coordinates the scholarship application process read comments written about each student from recommendation letters.  “While academic achievement is certainly an important criterion, we look for the well-rounded students and you all fit the bill. We are extremely proud of the work you have done and will continue to do. The Sheriff and staff wish you the best in all your endeavors.” said Lt. Colonel Taylor

After an Academic Committee narrows the selection of applications down to ten finalists, an outside, independent Scholarship Committee is asked to review the applications of the ten finalists to pick the winners.  This year’s committee included Retired Fire/EMS Battalion Commander Thelmetria Michaelides, Ms. Elaine Zammet, Legislative Assistant to Delegate Aisha Braveboy and Derrick Coley, Citizens Services Specialist for Councilman Obie Patterson.

   For more information contact the Communications and Public Affairs Division at 301-780-8637.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.