Thursday, June 22, 2017

7th Annual Melvin C. High Scholarship Winners #PGSO

Upper Marlboro, MD… The Prince George’s County Office of the Sheriff hosted the winners of the Seventh Annual Melvin C. High Scholarship Awards at a ceremony on Tuesday June 20th. This years’ recipients were County high school graduates Pharist O’Neal from Charles Herbert Flowers High School, Jessica Jenkins from Bishop McNamara High School, and Ewaoluwa Ogundana from Frederick Douglass High School .
The scholarship winners are selected from ten finalists who are first selected from nearly 100 applicants who applied for the award this year. The “Final Selection Committee” of three judges and an alternate reviews the application of the 10 finalists, looking at their academic achievements and their involvement in community and school activities.  

“I’m as excited to meet each year’s scholars as I was to meet our first scholars in 2012. These young people are driven toward personal excellence and making our world and society better,” said Sheriff High. In his remarks, Sheriff High focused on the importance of resiliency for when life throws the inevitable curve ball.

This year’s keynote speaker, Carlton Atkinson, State Director for U.S. Senator Ben Cardin. Mr. Atkinson urged the scholars to take advantage of every opportunity presented to them by campus life in order to assure their success and to thrive in university life.  

Each Melvin C. High Scholarship winner was awarded $1,000 payable to the student and the college they plan to attend. Ms. O’Neal will attend Georgia Tech with a major in Biomedical Engineering; Ms. Jenkins will attend Norfolk State University majoring in Biology/Pre-Med; and Ms. Ogundana will attend Trinity College as a major in Political Science.
For more information contact the Communications and Public Affairs Division at 301-780-7354.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.